Dons hitman joins Velo & Blue fundraising effort

AFC Wimbledon striker and league two’s current leading goalscorer Jack Midson will not be putting his feet up after the last match of the season against Shrewsbury as he will be gearing up for his own climbing challenge.

The striker has announced that he will support the Velo and Blue cause by climbing Snowdon mountain in Wales on Saturday 12th May, the first weekend after the end of the League Two campaign. Midson says he wants to make his own contribution after hearing about our cycling challenge to climb Mont Ventoux, France three times in a day in aid of the Anthony Nolan charity and equipment for the club’s gym.

“When I heard what Mike Rayner (club physio) and Robin Bedford (kit man) were doing with their Velo and Blue teammates and why, I decided to do this challenge and raise money for charity as well. It’s all for a good cause,” Midson said. “It will be the first time that I have done something like this. Since I have said that I am doing it, people have been messaging me about it and asking what challenge I am doing next, but I just need to get through this one first. My mates who I used to work with at the Elms Lawn Tennis Club are also doing it for another charity. Whilst I’ll be walking rather than cycling and my challenge isn’t as extreme as the Velo & Blue boys, I’m looking forward to it and hopefully I can help them raise money for two good causes. Anthony Nolan played a massive part in sucessfully helping Terry Brown’s wife Suzy’s recent fight against leukaemia, I know he can’t praise them enough.”

Jack has set up a JustGiving page, which can be accessed by clicking here.

Funds from both events will be split between the Anthony Nolan charity and equipment for the club gym.

Leave a Reply

